Awards & Honours



2016 College attains Autonomous Status

College received Award for the ‘Best College in Sports & Games’ in the state of Kerala Instituted by Kerala Sports Council.

Winner of Malayala Manorama trophy and a cash award of Rs. 50,000/- for the overall champions in M G Unviersity Sports & Games  for the academic year.

College started Civil Service Coaching Institute, Changanacherry Civil Service Institute.

College signed MoU with Sophia University, Japan.

Introduction of ERP.

Commencement of SAP International Certification courses in ERP, Finance, ERP and Finance at Assumption Community College.


Assumption selected as the best college in sports and games instituted by the Kerala state sports council.

College honoured with K C Varghese Memorial Excellence Award.

College honoured with Excellence Award for contribution to Kerala Education by Kerala Education Insider Education Conclave 2015 (DC Media DC Books).

Our college won the overall title in the 9th Kerala State College Games held at Thiruvananthapuram. Assumption lifted the prestigious Rajeev Gandhi Ever-rolling trophy and a cash award of Rs. One lakh for being the overall champions and women champions.

The college received the Malayala Manorama Trophy for the Best Sports performing Colleges in the Mahatma Gandhi University Kottayam.

Assumption College received Community College Scheme of UGC (79.9 lakhs) sanctioned  for Advanced Diploma Course in Textile and Garment Designing.

The Taluk Legal Services Committee honoured the college in appreciation of the valuable service and contribution to Total Eradication of Legal Illiteracy Mission for Changanacherry (TELIMC).

2014 Vocational Service Award of District Public Image Committe & Rotary Club Changanacherry to Assumption College for its Meritorious Contributions in the field of Entrepreneurial Development of Women.

The National Service Scheme Units of the college, Dr. Sr. Mercy Nedumpuram, the Principal and Dr. Meerabai Amma, the Programme Officer were awarded with the Certificate of Merit for their meritorious and praiseworthy services through the NSS of Mahatma Gandhi University during the year 2013-2014.

Dr. Sr. Mercy Nedumpuram, Principal, was honoured as “TALENT FOR 2014” instituted by Kerala Pradesh Pravasi Congress, Changanassery Mandalam Unit on 26 December 2014.

We were recognized with KC Varghese Foundation Award 2014 for Champion College 2013–14 by KC Varghese Foundation Doha.

The College was awarded Five star rating by Kerala Government outstanding performance in the Additional Skill Acquistion Programme.

2013 The College has been selected as the Best College in Sports and Games by the Government of Kerala for the year 2013 and the Head of the Dept of Physical Education, Prof. Ninamma Thomas has been selected as the Best Physical Education Teacher for her excellent contributions in sports and games.

Dr Sr Mercy Nedumpuram SABS is honoured with the Best Principal Award institued by Catholic Federation of India.

2012 College is honoured with ‘Institutional Excellence Award’ by ‘All Kerala Catholic Congress, Archdiocesan Committee’ for the Meritorious Contributions in the field of Higher Education in Kerala.
2009 P S Job Award-2009 from AIACHE for the most Innovative Programme in Colleges.
2008 College wins the prestigious Sr Hedwige’s National Award for the Best College, instituted by the Xavier Board of Higher Education in India.

Winner of National Environmental Awareness Award instituted by Khadi and Village Industries Development agency of India, New Delhi .

College bags the Thycaud Sastha Foundation Award for The Best College during the Year 2007-08.

2007 Sr. Tessa Award instituted by Citizens of Kochi for the Best College in M.G. University for her achievements during the year 2005-06.Reaccreditation by NAAC with an “A” Grade status in February 2007.

Shiksha Bharati Award instituted by Indian Achievers Forum, New Delhi in April 2007.

Gyan Bharati Shiksha Award by Global Management Council, Ahamadabad, Gujarath in May 2007.

Bharatiya Shiksha Ratan Award of the Economic for Health and Educational Growth, New Delhi in May 2007.

C.H Muhammed Koya Award instituted by C H Foundations for excellence in innovative education to APAAC.

2003 Dr. I’ma Neerakal,Dept. of Botany is honoured with theYoung Scientist Award by the Government of Kerala .
2001 College becomes the recipient of Kerala Governments R. Shankar Award for the Best College in the State

Assumption College became the first recipient of the Award instituted by Kerala SportsCouncil for The Best College for Sports & Games.

1997 Assumption College wins the prestigious R. Shankar award instituted by the Government of Kerala for the Best College in the State
1992 Assumption wins the first Malayala Manorama award for the Best College in Sports & Games Under Mahatma Gandhi University consecutively for four times.




Name of the Faculty


Academic Attainments

Dr. Poulami Aich Mukharjee


Book Release at International Book Fair, Kolkata on 27 February, 2016

Golden Pen Honour for her Mission in Portugal instituted by the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India on 29 January 2016 at Portuguese Embassy, New Delhi

Minor Research Project (Rs. 1,00,000/-for 1 year) on Authorship & IPR: A Gender Perspective from Inter University Centre for IPR Studies, CUSAT, Kochi

Dr Sr Marykutty Joseph

(Sr Amala SH)


Rotary Excellence Award- 2016

Dr. Poulami Aich Mukharjee


Young Social Scientist Award, Indian Planning Commission, 2014

Cultural Ambassador of Government of Portugal in India, 2007 -17

Dr. Sr. Mariamma Joseph


Best Principal Award , Catholic Federation, 2013

Ms. Ninamma Thomas

Physical Education

Best College Teacher Award, Government of Kerala, 2013

Ms. Ranimaria Thomas


Represented India in South East Asian Research Scholars Exchange Programme in Japan, 2012

Dr. I’ma Neerackal


Woman Achiever in Science by KSCSTE, Government of Kerala, 2012

Dr Binumol Abraham


Best Thesis Award and gold medal for her thesis Humour and History of Mentality: A study of Popular Culture in Colonial Keralam, from Hyderabad University, 2012

Dr Sherin Thomas


Best Paper Presentation in the National Seminar held at S B College, Changanassery, 2012

Ms Joselin Xavier


Best Poster Presentation in the National Seminar held at S B College, Changanacherry, 2012

Ms Minitha Susan Joseph

Home Science

Dept, won second prize in Paper Presentation in the Interdisciplinary Research Fair held at St Teresa’s College, Ernakulam, 2012

Ms. Whyni Gopi


Best Paper Presentation Award in the National Seminar, “New Faces of Woman Empowerment” conducted by Vimala College, Thrissur, 2011



Name of the Student



Alumni Jaisha O.P

Represented India in Rio Olympics


Liz Johny

Won third prize elocution and debate in interuniversity youth festival conducted at Hariyana


Amala Antony

Participated in Annual NCC Republic Day Camp & Prime Minister’s Rally, New Delhi


Minta Anna Thomas

Participated in Annual NCC Republic Day Camp & Prime Minister’s Rally, New Delhi


Soniya P Jose

Participated in Annual NCC Republic Day Camp & Prime Minister’s Rally, New Delhi


Liz Johny

International Best Debater, at UN International Youth Initiative Debate


SUO Aleena Johnson

Participated in NCC Youth Exchange Programme held in Srilanka

Participated in Annual NCC Republic Day Camp & Prime Minister’s Rally, New Delhi


Liz Johny

Participation in Second Indian Student Parliament, organized by MAEER’S, MIT, School of Government, Pune

Participation in World Youth Parliament