Anti-Ragging Committee

In exercise of power conferred by Clause(g) of Sub-Section(1) of Selection 26 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, the University Grants Commission hereby defines Ragging as- Any disorderly conduct whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness any other student, indulging in rowdy or undisciplined activities which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in a fresher or a junior student or asking the students to do any act or perform something which such student will not in the ordinary course and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of a fresher or a junior student.

UGC’s 24×7 Anti Ragging Toll Free Helpline No: 1800-180-5522

Assumption College Email ID:

Punishment at the Institution level:

Depending upon the nature and gravity of the offence as established by the Anti-Ragging Committee of the Institution, the possible punishments for those found guilty of ragging at the institution level shall be any one or combination of the following:

  1. Cancellation of admission
  2. Suspension from attending classes
  3. Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits
  4. Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process
  5. Withholding results
  6. Debarring from representing the institution in any regional, national or international meet, tournament, youth festival etc.
  7. Suspension/ expulsion from the hostel
  8. Rustication from institution for period raging from 1 to 4 semesters
  9. Expulsion from the institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution
  10. Fine of Rupees 25,000/-
  11. Collective punishment: When the persons committing or abetting the crime of ragging are not identified, the institution shall resort to collective punishment as a deterrent to ensure community pressure on the potential raggers.

Committee Members

Rev  Sr Cherukusumam  CMC (Sr. Thresiamma Devasia) (Principal)

Rev. Dr Thomas Joseph Parathara  (Vice Principal & Bursar)

Ms Anitha Jose (Vice Principal)

Mr Joseph Abraham (PTA President)

Sr Shalini CMC