Department of Physical Education

          The faculty of Physical Education started in Assumption College for women in the year 1956. The department of Physical Education of this college has a glorious past under the able stewardships of Prof. I.Z. Anna, Prof. Celine Joseph and Prof. Ninamma Thomas. Up to 1983 the students of this college participated in the intercollegiate tournaments of the undivided Kerala University and started winning awards and championships from 1961.

             The teaching staff as on today consists of two teachers. Ms. Suja Mary George, Assistant Professor is the Head of the Department and Dr Jimmy Joseph, Assistant Professor. Three coaches assigned from the Kerala Sports Council are Mr. Jagadeesh R Krishnan (Athletics), Mr. Thomas Chandi (Basketball ) and Mr. V Anilkumar (Volleyball). The college herself appointed Dr.MUnnikrishnan (Athletics) Ms Varghese T (Handball) Mr. SibuSivadas (Baseball, Cricket and Softball).

      Every year Assumption College renews its Sports and Games and social recognition by winning laurels in the form of awards and trophies in the field of Sports and Games. The College received the First G V Raja Award for the Best College in Sports and Games in the state of Kerala, instituted by Kerala State Sports Council in the year 2000-2001. We further went on to win it in the years 2012-13, 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2017-18, a total of five times. Prof. Ninamma Thomas was awarded Best College Physical Education Teacher  award instituted by Kerala Sports Council for the Excellent Contribution in Sports and Games  for the year 2012-13Ms. Suja Mary George Assistant Professor of the Department Received the 4th PEFI National Award for the Best Physical Education Teacher in College Level ( South India) in 2019.

Kerala sports council has conducted 10 College games where in the winners are presented the Rajiv Gandhi Gold Cup and Cash Award. Of the 10 times it was conducted, Assumption College has Won it 7 times in the years 1995-96, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2005-06, 2014-15 and 2015-16.

 College received the MalayalaManorama Trophy and cash award for the Best Sports Performing College in  Mahatma Gandhi University in the years 1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1994-95, 1998-99, 2009-10 and consecutively for eight years from 2011-2012 to  2018-19( Fourteen Times).

The department has so far produced Two Olympians Chithra K SomanrepresentedIndia in Olympics in 2004 and O. P Jaisha in 2016,  Arjunaawardrreceived by our two students Chithra K Soman in 2007 and Geethu Anna Jose in 2014, G V Raja Award received by our two students  Jetty C Joseph in 2003 and O. P Jaisha in 2013. The College has to its laurels a collection of 27 International Medals. The College has contributed 82 International Athletes and Players in various Sports and Games.